Downtown Atlanta Remodel \ Whiddon Residence

I design kitchens for a living, but what about the kitchen design where I live?? A few years ago I bought a loft in Downtown Atlanta in an area known as Castleberry Hill. It is the art mecca of Atlanta with an Art Gallery around every corner! I let the art theme of the neighborhood be my inspiration for this contemporary kitchen creation.


Whiddon Residence / Atlanta, GA
Quality Cabinets / Hancock Cherry / Burgundy / Amber Cherry Accents
Designer / Todd Whiddon
Installers / Todd Whiddon / Tyler Whiddon / Randy Rumpf

The kitchen my loft came with needed some SERIOUS work!

This is NOT the NKBA recommended method for removing cabinets. But since this is my kitchen, I wanted to experience how kitchens were remodeled before power tools were invented…

Kitchen remodeling isn’t quite like an artist having a blank canvas, it more like someone else dripping paint on your canvas and then you having to finish the painting and make it a masterpiece. When designing a kitchen remodel, you often have to measure around appliances and plan designs without knowing exactly what’s inside your walls. If you are changing the structure of your kitchen it is not only a good idea to hire experienced professionals, but you should also at least pull off the sheetrock and see what surprises are lurking in your walls that may affect the final outcome.

I found some unexpected water pipes for the loft above mine that I had to incorporate into my design.

My vision of a bigger, better, brighter kitchen begins to take shape…

And Here it is! Bold Colors, Exquisite Materials, Open Contemporary Design

I actually designed and installed this backsplash myself by out of 1″ travertine tiles with 1″ glass tile accents

These countertops ROCK! Literally! I used Stellar Night from Silestone which is engineered quartz with little chips of mirror in them. It is harder than granite, NEVER has to be sealed, and has micro-ban built right in! You should see the way all TWENTY TWO lights in the kitchen reflect off them at night!

Remember that laundry room door from the before Pics?

This kitchen design move is REALLY popular in high end designs these days, secret cabinet doors into pantries and other rooms in the house is a great way to impress your friends and potential home buyers! From the looks of my laundry basket…perhaps I forget I have a laundry room a little too often 🙂

Knocking out these walls made such a big difference in this space! And who couldn’t justify a NEW TV to go with their NEW kitchen view!

The accessories available in today’s cabinetry are great! I couldn’t live without my integrated trash cans! This is a 9″ spice pullout, DO NOT buy a 3″ spice pullout! Everyone and their brother comes to me wanting to buy the 3″ versions they see in magazines but those are pretty much the most useless things every invented because you can’t really fit anything on them…not all spice bottles are created equal!

Does your kitchen need an extreme cabinet makeover like this one?

Remodel Experience + Design Creativity = The Custom Design team at CDG!

Tags: , , ,

Leave a comment